Home > Books > The Leviathan Trilogy

The Leviathan Trilogy

Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever.

  1. Story  – Getting Into It (7) I had never read steam punk before this, so it was a little weird for me to get into but I love history and I love how this tried to look like a ya novel from the early 1900’s.
  2. Story – Staying Interested (8) This is a good story once you get into it and leaves you anticipating the finish, not quite like Harry Potter or Hunger Games but  the anticipation is there.
  3. Story – Finish (10) This trilogy had one of the best ending I have ever read. It did not tie everything exactly up with a perfect bow like Twilight but it also did not anger/frustrate me like Hunger Games/Maze Runner/many other series.
  4. Characters (7) The characters are likeable and you route for them to make in a world that seems like could crush them at any minute.
  5. Writing (8) I can read Westerfeld’s writing pretty well. I read the Uglies Trilogy first and did not really care for it but liked his writing style enough to pick this one up and I’m glad I did.

Overall a 40/50 or 4.0 rating from me. A good introduction for me to the Steam Punk genre but also a good story with a good plot. Not exactly loaded with romance for some ladies but it is still there and I highly recommend this book.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

