Home > Books > Princess Academy Series

Princess Academy Series

Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king’s priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year’s time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king’s ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.

Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.

Princess Academy (Princess Academy, #1)Palace of Stone (Princess Academy #2)  

  1. Story  – Getting Into It (7) This is obviously a book for girls and I as a 20 something year old male had low hopes for this but my wife read it, we owned it, so I read it. Surprisingly, I was able to get into it.  I like the mountain feel of the story and the medieval type setting.
  2. Story – Staying Interested (7) The training at the academy really kept me interested, yes I would like there to be more male characters but I finished the first book and was ready to read the second.
  3. Story – Finish (5) The first book ended well enough but the second book had me so annoyed half way through with how the main character behaved that I almost gave up on it. She makes changes and things get better but it did not feel sincere. Also the stories get really predictable with the overuse of foreshadowing.
  4. Characters (6) Some of the minor characters are interesting and I liked Miri in the first book but I don’t know if she changed or if I just got annoyed with her. I don’t understand how someone who is supposed to be smart can seem so dumb.
  5. Writing (9) Shannon Hale actually does a wonderful job with these stories. She describes well but not too much. She has a good flow and miraculously keeps me interested in a series called PrincessAcademy.

Overall a 34/50 or 3.5 rating from me. Shannon Hale does a great job and an interesting take of a world similar to our own but different with a medieval feel to it. A lot to like but I just want more consistency with who people are smart person should not act so dumb and a dumb one should not act so smart. But I guess that is life.

Categories: Books Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

